Skip to content

Honorary graduates of winter 2023


Twice a year, the University of Bradford confers honorary degrees on individuals who have distinguished themselves in some way. These awards shine a light on students who are about to graduate, while serving as a reminder of their future potential.

We are proud to add to our rollcall of honour, the following individuals:

Professor Oshita Osang Oshita, Executive Director of Ubuntu Centre for Africa Peacebuilding and Development, became a Doctor of the University in recognition of his significant contribution to international peace studies and developing links with the University of Bradford. 

Former headteacher Peter Steele was awarded an Outstanding Contribution Award for his significant contribution to excellence and inclusion within education and the community. 

Healthcare leader Mark O’Herlihy was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Health in recognition of demonstrating significant achievement in the field of radiography and commitment to education. 

Nick Toczek received an Outstanding Contribution Award in recognition of his long-standing and diverse career with Bradford's arts and culture sector as a poet, musician, writer, performer and journalist. 

Rukeya Miah BEM was awarded an Outstanding Contribution Award in recognition of her outstanding career as an award-winning midwife and advocate for equality and inclusion within healthcare and leadership. 

Dame Clare Moriarty DCB, CEO of Citizen Advice, received an Honorary Doctor for her dedication to making a difference to underserved and underrepresented communities. 

Shaukat Ahmed MBE was given an Honorary Degree of Doctor for his significant commitment to the community of Bradford and the University.