Skip to content

Vice-Chancellor one of six new Commissioner Members of the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission


Six new Commissioners, including University of Bradford Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Cantor, have been appointed to the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission

Following a competitive application process the Foreign and Commonwealth Office is pleased to announce the appointments of six new Commission Members to the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission (MACC).

The new Commissioners are:

  • Mrs Xenia Wickett, Head, US and the Americas Programme, and Dean, Queen Elizabeth II Academy, Chatham House
  • Mrs Barbara Ridpath, Director, St Paul’s Institute
  • Lord Wood of Anfield, House of Lords
  • Professor Brian Cantor CBE, Vice-Chancellor at the University of Bradford
  • Mrs Suzanne McCarthy, Chairman of the Code of Standards Committee at the Institute of Fundraising and Chairman, Depaul UK
  • Mr Alan Bookbinder, Director of the Sainsbury Family Charitable Trusts

Commenting on the appointments the Foreign Secretary, Philip Hammond MP said:

“The Marshall Scholarship Scheme is widely considered one of the most prestigious scholarships for US citizens to study in the UK. As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring special relationship between our two countries.

Marshall Alumni go on to become prominent leaders in their chosen field. To date they include the CEO of LinkedIn, Supreme Court Justices, Members of the US Congress and Presidential Cabinet, the Managing Editors of TIME and CNN and even an Astronaut. The high quality examples of Alumni serve as a symbol of the success of the Marshall Scheme.

I welcome the six newly appointed Commission members, who I am certain will ensure that the vital contribution made by the Marshall Scholarship Scheme to our special relationship continues for many years to come.”

In addition to the Chairman, Christopher Fisher, the other continuing members of the Commission are Janet Legrand, a partner and Senior Elected Board Member at DLA Piper, and Professor Simon Newman, Professor of American History at the University of Glasgow.

MACC Chairman Christopher Fisher added:

‘I am delighted that we have been able to attract such a high calibre group of individuals to become new Marshall Commissioners. The Marshall Scholarship Programme has a fantastic track record in maintaining and renewing strong Anglo-American ties. The Commission is fully committed to sustaining the scale, quality and vitality of this programme.’

Professor Cantor said: “The Marshall Scholarship Programme is one of the most valuable programmes of its kind in nurturing, promoting and developing the special relationship that has existed for so long between the United States and the United Kingdom. It is an honour to be one of the Commissioners. I am particularly proud to be representing the University of Bradford, one of the most international universities in the world, and one with a global community of alumni who are a real force for good across the world.”

The Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission administers the British Marshall Scholarship scheme, which finances young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the UK. Up to forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study. As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions. Commissioners serve for a term of three years, with the possibility of re-appointment for a second term. The appointment is unpaid.

Back to news from 2016