Skip to content

Our faculties

The University has grown significantly since we were granted our Royal Charter in 1966.

During this time our subject areas have been expanded and our teaching and research expertise is divided across four academic faculties, which each cover a broad range of specialisms.

Your course belongs to one of these four faculties - each with their own academics, facilities and research centres.

Engineering & Digital Technologies

The Faculty of Engineering & Digital Technologies is comprised of six departments:

Our courses are strongly linked to industry and our graduates are highly regarded as well-rounded and hands-on. include Ford, Johnson & Johnson, Jaguar Land Rover, Arup, BBC, British Computer Society, Game Republic and Microsoft.

We use state-of-the-art equipment across the Faculty, including:

  • Vicon Optical Motion Capture Suite
  • CADCAM and CAE
  • £1m multidisciplinary engineering lab.
A civil engineering student wearing a yellow hard hat.

Health Studies

Students from the Faculty of Health Studies graduate equipped with the employability skills they need to succeed in a wide range of healthcare and associated professions.

The Faculty is highly regarded for its Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professions courses.

Staff in the faculty include leading academics, healthcare professionals and .

Service users will be involved in your studies from the beginning to end of your course.

State-of-the-art facilities in our £10m building, including:

  • two fully-equipped clinical wards
  • two physiotherapy rooms
  • movement lab
  • fully functioning X-ray suite
Three paramedic students resuscitating a practice manikin.

Life Sciences

The Faculty of Life Sciences incorporates four academic schools:

The Faculty has extensive links with the pharmaceutical industry and the health and personal care sectors.

State-of-the-art facilities including:

  • Bioimaging Suite
  • Anatomage Table and human patient simulator
  • fully equipped Crime Scene House

The Faculty's research is part-funded by the Government's research councils, Yorkshire Cancer Research, the Leverhulme Trust and the Wellcome Trust.

have accreditations from the Institute of Biomedical Science, the General Optical Council and the General Pharmaceutical Council.

Two chemistry students

Management, Law & Social Sciences

The Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences provides engaging and innovative teaching and learning which instils an ethos of responsible leadership and citizenship. We produce and disseminate applied, highly relevant research which makes a tangible difference to the world.

Our vision is to impact global societal challenges by Making Knowledge Work through world class interdisciplinary teaching and research that cultivates talented, versatile, job-ready graduates within a distinctive student community that has the knowledge and skills to make a difference.

The School of Law, School of Management and the School of Social Sciences are located at the heart of the University on City Campus.

School of Law

The School's extensive range of law programmes give you the opportunity to tailor your study in a particular aspect of law.

School of Management

The School is part of an elite group of global business schools to hold the triple accreditation of EQUIS, AMBA and AACSB, often referred to as the Triple Crown.

It's one of the oldest university-based business schools in the UK, and has close links with the region's top employers.

School of Social Sciences

The School is internationally recognised for research and teaching across the social sciences.

It produces cutting edge applied research and works closely with governments, public bodies and multilateral organisations including the United Nations, the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank, the European Commission, the Quakers, and others.