Skip to content


The University of Bradford is a legally independent, charitable organisation that is formalised through a Royal Charter. The University received its charter in 1966, this specifies what the purpose of the University is and what powers it holds, it also defines what the University requires in its statutes.

Our governance structure is designed to allow efficient and effective decision making. The University has three key boards who make up the main decision making and governing bodies. These are the Council, the Senate, and the Executive Board.

Committees are core to our governance structure and decision-making processes.

Regulations are the specific rules governing the operation of the University.

Ordinances are the high level, general rules of the University.

The constitutional framework of the University is based on its Charter, Statutes, Regulations and Ordinances.