Skip to content

News and Events

Here you can find the latest news and events from the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences. Our events include information on the specialist seminar series we run throughout the year.

Bradford Pharmacy team wins Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence

Published: Thur 2 Nov 2017

The Pharmacy Curriculum team at the University of Bradford has been recognised nationally with a Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) from the Higher Education Academy

The award is for their pioneering implementation of team based learning and their transformation of the student learning experience and Pharmacy education.

Their work has affected the way pharmacy is taught at the University moving from traditional lectures and practicals to active, student-centred Team-based Learning learning.  The team includes academics and students.

Professor Marcus Rattray, Head of the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at the University of Bradford says: "I am enormously proud of our team of dedicated staff who have worked so hard to transform the pharmacy curriculum.  I am delighted that the team work to make this change has been recognised nationally."

Dr Sue Jones, Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice said: ‘Because we use collaborative working, problem-solving, critical thinking and communication throughout our pharmacy curriculum, our students are better equipped than ever before to enter the world of clinical practice and work with patients. This has been developed using a team-based learning (TBL) approach to the whole of curricula development; unique in the United Kingdom (UK).’

Through the pioneering work of the team and the positive effects on student learning, these teaching methods are now being adopted in other universities across the country in subjects as diverse as law, agriculture, psychology and systems engineering.

The Higher Education Academy CATE celebrates collaborative work in teaching and learning and captures the creative and innovative practice that positively impacts on the student experience.  The awards recognise teams who have enabled a change in practice for colleagues and/or students at an institutional or discipline level. Each winning team is awarded a grant to support their project to be spent over a three year period.

The Higher Education Academy is an independent non-profit organisation committed to world-class teaching in higher education. HEA work in partnership with institutions and individuals in higher education supporting student success.