Skip to content



University committees are a core component of the University's governance structure and decision-making processes. In addition to ensuring decisions are fully considered and formally recorded they are used for consultation and communication.

The University currently has the following committee structure: 

University Committee Structure 2022-23

Committee Planner

The Committee Year Planner sets out the dates of the Council and Senate and its Committees. The dates have been arranged such that, where possible, there are intervals between meetings of the Committees to permit referrals of business from one Committee to another.

The Committee Year Planner is updated throughout the year to reflect the latest activities. Please send any amendments to the Governance team to add email

Please see below links to the University Committee Year Planner:

Committee year planner 2023/24

Committee Templates and Scheme of Delegation

Committee templates for reports and agendas can be found on the internal sharepoint pages for staff at

The  sets out the relevant responsibilities and financial limits. It is part of the University’s governance framework and is intended to facilitate effective decision making, support enhanced corporate governance practices and help committees and individuals understand their roles and the limits of their powers. It also highlights those responsibilities ‘reserved’ for Council which cannot be delegated.

University Council

The Council as the University’s governing body has a collective responsibility to ensure that the University’s overall mission and strategy are delivered through an effective framework of governance. It is responsible for the finance, property, investments and general business of the University, and for approving the general strategic direction of the institution. It is the Council’s responsibility to bring independent judgement to bear on issues of strategy, performance, resources and standards of conduct. Its powers are defined in Statute 11. It has a majority of members that are external to and independent of the University (lay members), from whom its Chair is drawn. Also included in its membership are representatives of the staff of the University and the student body.

The Senate

The Council devolves oversight and governance of all academic matters to the Senate which is the academic authority of the University (chaired by the Vice-Chancellor). Unlike the Council, its membership is drawn from within the University and consists primarily of academic staff of the institution, with representation of other categories of staff and of students. Its role is, in summary, to direct and regulate the teaching and research work of the University. Its powers are defined in Statute 12. Its main responsibilities include: academic strategy; promotion of research; academic standards; approval of the content of the curriculum and new programmes; student discipline; examinations, admissions; progression.

Executive Board

Executive Board is the principal management committee of the University and it ensure the effective leadership, coordination and management of the activities of the University.  Its membership is made up of the Vice-Chancellor (Chair), Deputy and Pro Vice-Chancellors, Deans of Faculties and Directors of Professional Services Directorates.

University Committees

The Council and the Senate are each supported by a number of committees.

The principal committees of the Council include:

The principal committees of the Senate include:

  • Learning and Teaching Committee
  • Awards Sub-Committee of Senate
  • Research and Innovation Committee
  • Faculty Boards

The principal committees of Senate and Council include:  

The Court

The University Charter states that (Clause 10) ‘There shall be a Court of the University (‘the Court’) which, subject to the provisions of the Charter and Statutes, shall appoint the Chancellor and have the right to receive reports on the working of the University.’

Further information is defined in Clause 9 of the University Statute:


The Assembly is a statutory body of the University. It has no executive powers, but it does have a wide-ranging consultative role and as such it offers a broad forum of debate, and takes its place in the general representative structure of the University.