Skip to content

Academic AAA and AAB Scholarships

  • Study level: Undergraduate
  • Academic entry year: 2017/18
  • Attendance of study: full-time
  • Available to: prospective students
  • Unlimited scholarships available

The University of Bradford is offering cash scholarships worth up to £3,500 (over the duration of a three-year degree) to all Home and EU students who achieve AAB or higher in their A-levels (or equivalent).

Students studying on an undergraduate degree programme for more than three years would receive funding for the additional years subject to satisfactory progression (excluding any years you are paying a reduced fee, for example when you are on a sandwich year).

There are is no limit to the number of scholarships available – all students who are eligible will receive the award.


  • All Home and EU students who achieve AAB or higher in their A Levels or equivalent (from three Level 3 qualifications only) - for a list of all qualifications and their equivalencies see the documents below:
  • Please note, the AAB Scholarship is linked to the grades you achieve, it is not linked to your offer or your UCAS tariff points.
  • If you have a combination of three level 3 qualifications which are not listed or if your country of domicile or qualification is not listed, please email us at to see if you are eligible.
  • Students must be commencing on their first, full time undergraduate degree programme in September 2017.
  • Students who transfer to us from another university will not be eligible for the scholarship unless they transfer into stage 1 of their programme i.e. foundation year or first year.
  • If you already hold a degree then you cannot be considered for the scholarship.

  • Anguilla
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territories
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Bulgaria
  • Cayman Islands
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus (European Union)
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • England
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland, the Republic of
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mayotte (French Territorial Collectivity)
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands
  • Northern Ireland
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oenno Islands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Scotland
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Sweden
  • Turks & Caicos Islands
  • Wales

Payment amount & frequency

AAA Grades or above

A guaranteed £1,000 in Year 1, plus a £500 Blackwell's card, and £1,000 in subsequent years subject to progression with an average of 60% or above.

AAB Grades

A guaranteed £500 in Year 1, plus a £500 Blackwell's card, and £500 in subsequent years subject to progression with an average of 60% or above.

Blackwell's card

The Blackwell’s card can be used at our University bookshop or online and lasts for the duration of the course. The balance on the card must be spent whilst you are studying at University. Any funds remaining at the end of your course will be donated to the University library. For more information go to the Blackwell's website.


If you have provided your bank details to Student Finance England you will receive the scholarship direct into your bank account.

The first year award will be paid in two equal instalments in November and April.

Subsequent years' awards will be paid in two instalments in November and April, subject to satisfactory progression at 60.00% or above (i.e. you must achieve an average of 60% across all your modules - every result is taken into account).

How to apply

You don’t need to apply – students will be assessed for the scholarship automatically shortly after A-level results in August 2017.

If you have got the grades then you have got the scholarship!

Successful students will then be notified that they have been awarded the scholarship by the end of October 2017.

Further information about this scholarship