Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

Committee and Panels

Committee for Ethics in Research

Committee Member List

NamePositionEmail Address
Prof John Bridgeman Chair J.Bridgeman@bradford.ac.uk
Pamela Mclaren P.A to Chair P.McLaren@bradford.ac.uk
Dr Martin Brinkworth Deputy Chair (BNPHS & IRAS Chair) M.H.Brinkworth@bradford.ac.uk
Dr Clare Beckett- Wrighton Member (HSHS Chair) C.Beckett@bradford.ac.uk
Dr Peter Twigg Member (BNPHS Deputy Chair) P.Twigg@bradford.ac.uk
Mr Andrew Scally Member (IRAS Deputy Chair) A.J.Scally@bradford.ac.uk
Dr Sue Richardson Member – (HSHS Deputy Chair) S.Richardson3@bradford.ac.uk
Dr Mel Cooper Member – (HSHS Deputy Chair) M.Cooper2@bradford.ac.uk
Mojgan Najafzadeh Member (Ethical Tissue) M.Najafzadeh1@bradford.ac.uk
Mr Neil Johnson Lay Member N/A
Mrs Gillian Bowskill Lay Member N/A
Dr John Buckley Member – Engineering & Informatics J.Buckley@bradford.ac.uk
Dr Tracy McClelland Member – Health Studies G.T.Mcclelland@bradford.ac.uk
Dr Sonia Correa Member – Life Sciences S.A.L.Correa@bradford.ac.uk
Prof Dilek Onkal Member – Management & Law D.Onkal@bradford.ac.uk
Prof Colette McAuley Member – Social Sciences C.McAuley@bradford.ac.uk
Ms Freda Sharkey Member – Legal & Governance F.Sharkey@bradford.ac.uk
Mr Steve Wiggins Member - Head of Health, Safety and Wellbeing S.W.Wiggins@bradford.ac.uk
Miss Tamsin Holt In Attendance – RSU T.I.Holt@bradford.ac.uk
Fatouma Sanyang Member UBU community-welfare-officer@bradford.ac.uk

 

Committee meeting dates

DateVenue
23rd October 2017 D3 Foyer Richmond Building
29th November 2017 D3 Foyer Richmond Building
15th February 2018 D3 Foyer Richmond Building
25th April 2018 D3 Foyer Richmond Building

Panels and Role

The two Research Ethics Panels (REPs) consider applications for research ethics approval.

The two REPs focus on separate subject areas:

  • Humanities, Social and Health Sciences Research Ethics Panel (HSHS).
  • Biomedical, Natural, Physical and Health Sciences Research Ethics Panel (BNPHS).

The two REPs have the same role, however within different academic disciplines:

  • The panel assesses how ethically appropriate the research project is at the start and as they progress.
  • They refer the contentious projects to the Committee for Ethics in Research and recommend amendments to the University's policies on research ethics.
  • They provide meeting minutes and annual report of daily activity to the Committee.

The Integrated Research Application System (IRAS) Application Review Panel, consider all IRAS applications, for approval before submission through the IRAS Portal.

The IRAS Application Review Panel's main focus is:

  • To review IRAS Applications prior to submission to NHS REC - Review relative to other panels, is intended to be light touch and to make suggestions of improvements that will aid successful passage through NHS REC.
  • To assure completeness of IRAS Applications prior to submission.
  • To confirm appropriate sponsorship arrangements.

Humanities, Social and Health Sciences REP

Member List

NameFacultyDepartmentEmail
Clare Beckett-Wrighton, Chair  FoSS Sociology & Criminology  C.Beckett@bradford.ac.uk 
Joanna Spink FoSS Sociology & Criminology  J.Spink1@bradford.ac.uk 
Barbara Stewart-Knox FoSS Psychology  B.Stewart-Knox@bradford.ac.uk 
Jennie Dayes FoSS Psychology  J.Dayes@bradford.ac.uk 
Valerie Lesk FoSS Psychology  V.Lesk@bradford.ac.uk 
Colette McAuley FoSS Social Work & Social Care C.McAuley@bradford.ac.uk 
Jones Adu-Gyamfi FoSS Social Work & Social Care J.Adu-Gyamfi@bradford.ac.uk 
Graeme Chesters  FoSS Peace Studies & International Development  G.S.Chesters@bradford.ac.uk 
Neil Cooper  FoSS Peace Studies & International Development R.N.Cooper@bradford.ac.uk 
Simon Whitby FoSS Peace Studies & International Development S.Whitby@bradford.ac.uk 
P B Anand  FoSS Bradford Centre for International Development P.B.Anand@bradford.ac.uk 
Rashmi Arora FoSS Bradford Centre for International Development R.Arora6@bradford.ac.uk 
Fatima Malik FoML Human Resource Management  F.Malik7@bradford.ac.uk 
Hugh Lee  FoML Human Resource Management  H.Lee4@bradford.ac.uk 
Sue Richardson, Deputy Chair FoML Human Resource Management  S.Richardson3@bradford.ac.uk 
Helen Trouille FoML Law H.L.Trouille@bradford.ac.uk 
Kathryn Dutton FoML Law K.Dutton@bradford.ac.uk 
Ann (Jiachen) Hou FoML Operations, Information Management and Sustainability J.Hou1@bradford.ac.uk 
Sam Cameron  FoML Economics S.Cameron@bradford.ac.uk 
Mei-Na Liao  FoML Marketing M.Liao@bradford.ac.uk 
Abhijit Sharma FoML Accounting, Finance & Economics  A.Sharma12@bradford.ac.uk 
Eva Afoldi FoML Marketing, Strategy and International Business E.A.Alfoldi@bradford.ac.uk 
Laura Green FoHS Nursing  L.Green5@bradford.ac.uk 
Louise Wem  FoHS Nursing  H.L.Wem1@bradford.ac.uk 
Tracy McClelland  FoHS Nursing  G.T.Mcclelland@bradford.ac.uk 
Melanie Cooper, Deputy Chair  FoHS Allied Health Professions (Midwifery)  M.Cooper2@bradford.ac.uk 
Andy Scally  FoHS Allied Health Professions (Radiography)  A.J.Scally@bradford.ac.uk 
Jane Montague FoHS Service Development & Improvement  J.Montague@bradford.ac.uk 
Barbara McNamara FoHS Service Development & Improvement  B.McNamara1@bradford.ac.uk 
Russell Delderfield Professional Services Academic Skills R.Delderfield1@bradford.ac.uk 
Tim Green  Professional Services Language Centre T.D.Green@bradford.ac.uk 
Keith Double N/A Lay Member N/A

Meeting Dates

DateVenue
4th September 2017 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
2nd October 2017 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
6th November 2017 D1, Richmond Building
15th January 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
12th February 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
5th March 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
9th April 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
14th May 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
4th June 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
2nd July 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building

Biomedical, Natural, Physical and Health Sciences REP

Member List

NameDepartmentFacultyEmail
Martin Brinkworth, Chair FoLS Chemistry & Biosciences M.H.Brinkworth@bradford.ac.uk
Mike Fessing FoLS Chemistry & Biosciences M.Fessing@bradford.ac.uk
Andrew Wilson FoLS Archaeological & Forensic Sciences A.S.Wilson2@bradford.ac.uk
Karina Croucher FoLS Archaeological & Forensic Sciences K.Croucher@bradford.ac.uk
William Mcilhagga FoLS Optometry & Vision Science W.H.Mcilhagga@bradford.ac.uk
Matt Cufflin FoLS Optometry & Vision Science M.P.Cufflin1@bradford.ac.uk
Joanne Mullarkey FoLS Institute of Cancer Therapeutics & Ethical Tissue J.Mullarkey@bradford.ac.uk
Wayne Burrill FoLS Institute of Cancer Therapeutics & Ethical Tissue W.Burrill@bradford.ac.uk
Steve Shnyder FoLS Institute of Cancer Therapeutics S.D.Shnyder@bradford.ac.uk
Jon Silcock FoLS Pharmacy & Medical Science J.Silcock@bradford.ac.uk
Paul Loadman FoLS Pharmacy & Medical Science P.M.Loadman@bradford.ac.uk
Tim Palmer FoLS Pharmacy & Medical Science T.Palmer1@bradford.ac.uk
Pete Twigg, Deputy Chair FoEI Engineering (Medical Engineering) P.Twigg@bradford.ac.uk
Tao Wan FoEI Media Design & Technology (Games, Animation & Visual Effects) T.Wan@bradford.ac.uk
Jeff Bromley FoHS Allied Health Professions (Physiotherapy) J.F.Bromley@bradford.ac.uk
Jo Atkinson FoHS Allied Health Professions (Occupational Therapy) J.M.C.Atkinson@bradford.ac.uk
Harry Atkinson N/A Lay Member N/A

Meeting Dates

DateVenue
20th September 2017 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
25th October 2017 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
22nd November 2017 Seminar Room (R0.01) Bright Building (Re:Centre)
31st January 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
21st February 2018 Seminar Room (R0.01) Bright Building (Re:Centre)
21st March 2018 Seminar Room (R0.01) Bright Building (Re:Centre)
18th April 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
23rd May 2018 Seminar Room (R0.01) Bright Building (Re:Centre)
20th June 2018 D3 Foyer, Richmond Building
18th July 2018 Seminar Room (R0.01) Bright Building (Re:Centre)

IRAS Application Review Panel

Member List

NameDepartmentFacultyEmail
Martin Brinkworth, Chair Biomedical Sciences Faculty of Life Sciences m.h.brinkworth@bradford.ac.uk
Andy Scally, Vice Chair Radiography Faculty of Health Studies a.j.scally@bradford.ac.uk
Mojgan Najafzadeh Biomedical Sciences Faculty of Life Sciences M.Najafzadeh1@bradford.ac.uk
Laura Middleton-Green Nursing Faculty of Health Studies l.middleton-green@bradford.ac.uk
Tracy McClelland Nursing Faculty of Health Studies g.t.mcclelland@bradford.ac.uk
Jenny Adams Nursing Faculty of Health Studies J.Adams@bradford.ac.uk
Sarah Smith Dementia Faculty of Health Studies S.Smith15@bradford.ac.uk
Martin Fitzgerald Radiography Faculty of Health Studies M.Fitzgerald@bradford.ac.uk
Cor Jonker Service Development & Improvement Faculty of Health Studies C.Jonker@bradford.ac.uk

Meeting Dates

DateVenue
12th September 2017 D1, Richmond Building
23rd January 2018 D1, Richmond Building
17th April 2018 D1, Richmond Building
10th July 2018 D1, Richmond Building

Committee & Panel Terms of Reference

Committee Terms of Reference

For committee Terms of Reference (ToR)‌ please see attached: Committee ToR 2016-17

Panel Terms of Reference

For the panel Terms of Reference (ToR) please see attached Panel Terms of Reference 2016-17 .

Queries

If you have any queries, please contact the Research Support Unit:

Tamsin Holt, ext. 5184, t.l.holt@bradford.ac.uk

Deborah Hodgson, ext.3196, ethics@bradford.ac.uk

Jagruti Lad, ext.6225, ethics@bradford.ac.uk