Skip to content

University honours eight at graduations


Two people in graduation robes hugging.

The University of Bradford will honour eight national and international figures with honorary degrees at its forthcoming graduation ceremonies.

The ceremonies take place on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, July 16, 17 and 18, in the Great Hall of the city campus, where Chancellor Kate Swann and Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Cantor will present the honorary degrees.

The events will also celebrate the University’s world-leading dementia care research with the award of the first two doctorates from the Alzheimer's Society-funded Doctoral Training Centre on Transitions in Dementia Care at the University’s Centre for Applied Dementia Studies. The doctorates will be awarded to Denise De Waal from the Netherlands and Courtney Shaw from Canada.

An honorary fellowship will also be conferred on the late Alan Hague, who recently died. His family will attend a ceremony to receive the award on his behalf.

Alan joined Sandoz Products in 1969 as a junior laboratory technician and whilst there gained academic qualifications through a company day release scheme.

In 1974 he was appointed to the University of Bradford as a grade 3 research technician in the School of Colour Chemistry & Colour Technology and he rose rapidly through the ranks to become the youngest Superintendent technician in the University. In 1992 Forensic Science was established at the University and Alan was instrumental in developing the degree programmes and forensic facilities at the University and, as his academic duties were also expanding, his role was re-designated.

His research interests covered a broad scope of subjects in both Chemistry and Forensic areas and he had close collaborations with many internal and external parties as well as being a principal investigator. A selection of these included the police, fire service, instrument and equipment manufacturers.

He served on Senate, H&S, Project planning, Estates, HR Committees and Boards and was involved as a specialist advisor on many occasions.

In his spare time, he developed an extensive experience of teaching and examining a variety of skills including motorcycling, swimming, RLSS Lifesaving and first aid.

Receiving honorary degrees from the University will be:

  • Dame Mary Archer, Doctor of Science
  • Tim O’Reilly, Doctor of Technology
  • John Graham Hart, Honorary Fellowship
  • Wendy Mitchell, Doctor of Health
  • Dr. Anita Patil-Deshmukh, Doctor of Health
  • Manoj Joshi, Doctor of the University
  • Lady Brenda Hale, Doctor of Law
  • Dr Priscilla Elworthy, Doctor of the University

Almost 1500 students are due to attend the ceremonies.

Back to news from 2019