Skip to content

Bradford Professor elected president of College of Optometrists


Professor Edward Mallen has been elected as the new president of the College of Optometrists

The College of Optometrists formally welcomed its new president and five new council members at its annual AGM and conference last month.

College board member, head of the school of optometry and vision science and professor of physiological optics at the University of Bradford, Professor Edward Mallen was introduced during Optometry Tomorrow (18–19 March) at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel.

Speaking about his appointment, Professor Mallen said he was delighted to be elected as the new president of the College.

“I am proud of our profession, and look forward to continuing the great work of our immediate past president, Dr Mary-Ann Sherratt,” he shared.

“Optometrists are well-placed to improve the eye health of the nation. We are at a time of great opportunity right now, and I’m excited by the developments that could lie ahead,” Professor Mallen added.

The five new council members include optometrists Prab Boparai (West Midlands), Lorcan Butler and Lisa O Donoghue (Northern Ireland), Dr Irene Ctori (London) and Deepali Modha (East).

Read Professor Mallen's profile.

« Back to news from 2018