Skip to content

New Trustees appointed to the Board of the Science Museum Group


Prime Minister, David Cameron has appointed Professor Brian Cantor, University of Bradford Vice-Chancellor to the Board of the Science Museum Group.

Professor Cantor CBE will join Sarah Dry and Lopa Patel as new trustees, each for a term of four years, running from 1 June 2016 to 31 May 2020.

The Science Museum Group (SMG) comprises of the Science Museum, the National Media Museum, the National Railway Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry.

The Trustees of the Science Museum Group have statutory duties under the National Heritage Act 1983 for the general management and control of SMG. Within the framework of these statutory duties, the role of the Trustees is to establish SMG’s policy, review performance and endorse appointments to key management positions.

Professor Cantor said: “I am pleased to be joining such prestigious trustees on the board of the Science Museum Group. The museums are an enormous national asset, educating and informing people about the key role of science and technology in our modern world. The National Media Museum is a flagship attraction in Bradford, supporting the City of Bradford's and the University of Bradford's commitment to a dynamic, digital manufacturing and technology future.

I look forward to working with the board to build on the success of the Science Museum Group and to play my part in ensuring that science and technology reach as many people as possible.”

For more information on the new trustees visit

Back to news from 2016