

SENATE

Terms of Reference and Composition 2023/24

Terms of reference

- 1. The Senate is the supreme academic authority of the University responsible for overseeing academic quality and standards, and shall, subject to the powers reserved to the Council by the Statutes, take such measures and act in such a manner as shall appear to it best calculated to promote the academic work of the University both in teaching and research and shall regulate and superintend the education of the students of the University.
- 2. Senate has powers defined in the University Statutes article 12(1) 12 (5) (see appendix 1)

Composition

Ex-Officio Members Vice-Chancellor (Chair) Pro-Vice-Chancellors Deans Academic Registrar/Person with prime managerial responsibility across the University for learning resources

Members

Twenty five staff representatives (made up of Associate Deans, Professors, Academics and Admin/Technical/ Professional staff members) Chair of the Standing Committee of Assembly Two members elected by the University Assembly Three members elected from Professional Services staff Seven students

In attendance Chief Finance Officer Director of Learning, Teaching and Quality Enhancement Director of People and)Organisational Development Professor of Diversity (Responsible for strategic oversight for Equality and Diversity) University Secretary Secretary (Governance team)

Frequency of meetings

The Committee should meet no less than four times per academic year

Quorum

A quorum comprises at least 50% of the members of the Committee (including vacant posts), including the Chair or the Chair's nominee. This shall be rounded up to the nearest whole number. In the absence of a quorum, no formal resolution may be passed, but informal recommendations for decisions may be made to be considered and ratified at a subsequent meeting.

Ex-Officio Members

Name	Job Title / Position	End of Office
Professor Shirley Congdon	Vice-Chancellor	N/A
Professor Zahir Irani	Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic, Innovation and Quality)	N/A
Professor Harris Beider	Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)	N/A
Professor Udy Archibong	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion)	N/A
Paul Watson	Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning, Teaching and Student Experience)	N/A
Professor Martin Priest	Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	N/A
Professor Karen Stansfield	Dean, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Professor Rob James	Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Professor Amir Sharif	Dean, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Dr Anne Miller	Interim Academic Registrar	N/A

Members

Name	Job Title / Position	End of Office
Professor Felician Campean	ADRKT, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	N/A
Professor Iqbal Mujtaba	ADLT, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	N/A
Alison Hartley	ADLT, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Professor Marina Bloj	ADRKT, Faculty of Health Studies	N/A
Dr William Martin	ADLT, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Professor Sherif El-Khamisy	ADRKT, Faculty of Life Sciences	N/A
Dr Jing Li	ADRKT, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Dr Rhys Kelly	ADLT, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	N/A
Professor Alastair Wood	Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	2025
Dr Pete Twigg	Academic, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	2025
Yakubu John	Academic, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	2025
Amit Rana	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	2025
Professor Maryann Hardy	Professor, Faculty of Health Studies	2026
Bryan Lightowler	Academic, Faculty of Health Studies	2025
Elaine Wilkinson	Academic, Faculty of Health Studies	2024
Mozalfa Ilyas	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Health Studies	2025

Professor Andrew Wilson	Professor, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Benjamin Jennings	Academic, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Zak Hughes	Academic, Faculty of Life Sciences	2026
Tim Squire-Watt	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Life Sciences	2025
Professor Fiona Macaulay	Professor, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2026
Dr Samina Karim	Academic, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Dr Craig Johnson	Academic, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Faiz Ilyas	Admin/Technical/ Professional staff, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	2025
Professor Vishanth Weerakkody	Academic, Faculty Representative	2024
Jonathan Marsden	Member of Professional Services	2025
Dr Emma Brown	Member of Professional Services	2024
Nasreen Akhtar	Member of Professional Services	2025
Professor Prathivadi Anand	Chair of the Standing Committee of Assembly	2025
Colin Pickles	Member of Assembly	2025
Louise Wem	Member of Assembly	2025
Iqra Tabassum	Student Representative, UBU Sabbatical Officer	2024
Hamza Khan	Student Representative, UBU Sabbatical Officer	2024
Umar Taj	Student Representative, UBU Chair of Council (or UBU Sabbatical Officer)	2024
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Engineering and Informatics	
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Health Studies	
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Life Sciences	
Vacancy	Student Representative, Faculty of Management, Law & Social Sciences	

In attendance

Name	Job Title / Position	End of Office
Vacancy	University Secretary	N/A
Matthew Stephenson	Acting Associate Director (Gov/Leg/Risk)	N/A
David Harris	Director of People, Culture and Wellbeing N/A	
Andrew Lang	Chief Finance Officer N/A	
Steve Gilley	Director of Infrastructure N/A	
Professor Sankar Sivarajah	Dean, School of Management N/A	
Kath Wass	Governance and Projects Officer (Secretary)	N/A

Meeting Dates 2022/23

Date	Location	Time
18 October 2023	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
31 January 2024	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
13 March 2024	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00
1 May 2024	Room tbc	13:00
3 July 2024	Norcroft Auditorium	13:00

Serviced by

Kath Wass	k.wass@bradford.ac.uk
Governance & Projects Officer	

Appendix 1 (As set out in the Statutes)

Powers of the Senate

- 1 To oversee teaching and research and be responsible for maintaining the academic quality and standards of the University and for the admission and regulation of students.
- 2 The membership and powers of the Senate shall be prescribed in Ordinances.
- 3 The Council shall delegate to the Senate such of its functions relating to the planning, coordination, development and supervision of the academic work of the University.
- 4 The Senate shall comprise the following members:
 - i. *Ex-officio members:*
 - (a) The Vice-Chancellor, the Deputy Vice-Chancellors and the Pro-Vice-Chancellors;
 - (b) The Academic Registrar;
 - (c) The person with the prime managerial responsibility across the University for learning resources;
 - (d) The Deans of the academic units of the organisation.
 - ii. Twenty five representatives of the academic units of the organisation;
 - iii. The Chair of the Standing Committee of Assembly;
 - iv. Two members elected by the University Assembly;
 - v. Three members elected from Professional Services staff;
 - vi. Seven students, as determined by Ordinance.
- 5 The Senate shall be the supreme academic authority of the University and shall, subject to the powers reserved to the Council by the Statutes, take such measures and act in a manner as shall appear to it best calculated to promote the academic work of the University both in teaching and research and shall regulate and superintend the education of the students of the University.
- 6 The Senate shall delegate to the Learning and Teaching Committee such of its functions relating to the planning, coordination development of the academic work of the University.