Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

Honorary Graduates - July 2015

Congratulations to all of our new honorary graduates — welcome to Team Bradford. 

Tuesday 14th July 

Baroness Thornton of Manningham - Doctor of the University 

Glenys Thornton became Baroness Thornton of Manningham in 1998. She is the CEO of the Young Foundation and Founding Chair of Social Enterprise UK. Baroness Thornton was Political Secretary of the Royal Arsenal Co-operative Society from 1981, and joined the public affairs team of the Co-operative Wholesale Society in 1985. She was General Secretary of the Fabian Society from 1993 - 1996. Baroness Thornton has been a Shadow Spokesperson for Equalities and Women’s Issues, and Health. She has been a mentor of women in public office for 25 years and continues to support social enterprises across the world.

Mohammad Taj - Doctor of the University 

Mohammad Taj was elected as president of the Trades Union Congress in 2013. He moved to Britain in 1974 and joined Bradford City Transport as a bus conductor. He became a trade union activist and was elected to represent Bradford bus workers at the Transport and General Workers’ Union – now part of Unite. He has remained branch secretary, with gaps for other trade union business, for 35 years. In 1997 Mohammad published a report into the 1995 Bradford Riots and gave evidence to the Macpherson inquiry into the Stephen Lawrence murder.

Barbara Woodward-Carlton - Doctor of Health 

Barbara Woodward-Carlton is co-ordinator of the Alzheimer’s Society Research Network volunteers in Yorkshire and The Humber. After 19 years as a deputy head, Barbara trained teachers in health education, and drug and sex education. During this time Barbara’s mother developed memory problems and was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. She became Chairman of her local Alzheimer’s Society and in 1999 she became a member of the Alzheimer’s Society’s QRD (Quality Research in Dementia), later the Research Network. As a lay member of the Portfolio Development Group, Barbara became involved with the University of Bradford. She has facilitated the Carers Reference Panel and will be supporting the facilitation of the Better Health in Care Homes project from June 2015. Barbara speaks regularly for the Alzheimer’s Society.

Wednesday 15th July

Javed Bashir - Honorary Fellowship 

Javed Bashir is the founder and CEO of the Professional Muslim Institute (PMI) which was launched at the University of Bradford in 2009. Javed has developed and advanced the application of knowledge around community leadership. He has collaborated with some of the UK’s most influential Muslim leaders and has made a sustained contribution to the socio-economic development of the city and region. Javed won the Community Harmony Award in 2001 for his significant contribution to racial harmony after the riots, and for his charitable work.

Dr Keith Ridge - Doctor of Health 

Dr Keith Ridge is Chief Pharmaceutical Officer at NHS England and has led major changes to pharmacy during his career. Keith established and led the Modernising Pharmacy Careers programme, led the establishment of the General Pharmaceutical Council which regulates pharmacy professionals and premises, led the development of a landmark government White Paper on Pharmacy, and plays a senior role in the UK’s Antimicrobial Resistance and Influenza programmes. Keith is also Chief Pharmaceutical Officer at Health Education England. Keith is visiting professor in the Department of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at Imperial College Medical School. In 2006 Keith became Chief Pharmaceutical Officer at the Department of Health which he continues to be. Previously, Keith was Chief Pharmacist at University Hospitals Birmingham and North Glasgow. In the 2014 New Year’s Honours list, Keith was awarded a CBE for services to the pharmacy profession and to patients.

Thursday 16th July 

Lord Paul Drayson - Doctor of Engineering 

Lord Paul Drayson is CEO of Drayson Technologies, a company which develops wireless energy technologies in the consumer, health and transport sectors. He is a non-executive Director of the Royal Navy Board and a Member of Council of the University of Oxford. Paul trained as an engineer before studying for a PhD in robotics and becoming a science entrepreneur. He has developed businesses in food manufacturing, motorsport and life sciences. In 2001-2002 Paul was Chairman of the Bio-Industry Association and was appointed to the House of Lords in 2004. He has served as a Defence Minister and Minister for Science and Innovation.

Dame Wendy Hall - Doctor of Technology 

Dame Wendy Hall is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Southampton, and is the Executive Director of the Web Science Institute. Dame Wendy was one of the first computer scientists to undertake serious research in multimedia and hypermedia. She has been influential in the development of the Semantic Web and the emerging research discipline of Web Science. In 2006 she co-founded the Web Science Research Initiative and is currently a Director of the Web Science Trust. In 2009 she became a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in the UK New Year’s Honours list, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society.

Dame Mary Perkins - Doctor of the University 

Dame Mary founded Specsavers in 1984 with husband Doug and grew the business to become the largest privately-owned optical company in the world. Dame Mary qualified as an optometrist and built up her father’s opticians before founding Specsavers. She was made Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire for her services to business and the community in 2007 and was named most outstanding woman in business at the National Business Awards. She was the first recipient of the First Women Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010. She is an Honorary Vice-President of Vision Aid Overseas, Sightsavers and Ambassador for Action Aid and is a Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers and Freeman of the City of London.