Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

Honorary Graduates — December 2014

Congratulations to all of our new honorary graduates — welcome to Team Bradford.

Thursday 4 December

Dalton Philips — Doctor of the University

Dalton Philips has been the Chief Executive of UK retailer Morrisons since March 2010. After growing up on a poultry farm in Ireland, he attended University College, Dublin. He has since held managerial and executive positions in retail companies around the world including Jardine Matheson in New Zealand and Wal-Mart Inc. running divisions in Brazil and Germany. Dalton is a non-executive director at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Sir Barrington Windsor Cunliffe CBE — Doctor of Science

Barry Cunliffe (456x200)

Sir Barrington Windsor Cunliffe CBE is a distinguished archaeologist and academic and is currently Emeritus Professor of European Archaeology at the University of Oxford where he taught from 1972-2008. He has served in various notable positions such as President of the Council for British Archaeology and as a Commissioner of English Heritage. Sir Barrington has published many excavation monographs, research reports and books.

Ron Lee — Doctor of Engineering

Ron Lee (456x250)

Ron Lee has held the position of Director of Powertrain for Jaguar Landrover since 2013 following 12 years as Group Chief Engineer of Powertrain. He has been instrumental in developing the new collection of low emission, 4-cylinder petrol and diesel engines which Jaguar Land Rover is currently preparing for their new range. Ron was included in the 2014 Sunday Times Britain’s 500 most influential people.

Friday 5 December

Sir Keith Pearson — Doctor of Health

Keith Pearson

Sir Keith Pearson has been Chair of Health Education England since June 2014 after 16 years of holding chair positions in the NHS. Prior to the NHS, he held chief executive posts in East and South-East Asia. Outside of his healthcare work, Sir Keith is Chair of the Tri-Base British-American Community Relations committee for the MOD and Chair of the GMC UK Revalidation Programme Board and the Ministry of Justice National Offender Management Service. Sir Keith has been a magistrate since 1999.

Dame Dr Barbara Hakin OBE — Doctor of Health

Barbara Hakin

Dame Dr Barbara Hakin OBE is the National Director responsible for overseeing operational delivery of healthcare in NHS England seconded from the Department of Health. She qualified in medicine in Leeds in 1975 and then worked as a GP in Bradford for 20 years before holding various chief executive positions within healthcare. Dame Barbara is renowned for her work on the development of clinical commissioning.

Professor Bertil Andersson — Doctor of Science

Bertil Andersson

Bertil Andersson is a world-renowned plant biologist and President of Nanyang Technology University in Singapore. He is a research adviser to the Swedish government and was Vice-President of the European Research Advisory Board (EURAB) of the European Commission in Brussels 2004-2009. An author of more than 300 papers, Bertil received the Wilhelm Exner Medal in Vienna, Austria, recipients of which include Nobel Prize winners.