Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

UNESCO City of Film

City of film landscape

In 2009 Bradford was announced as the world's first UNESCO City of Film. This permanent titled has been awarded to the City in recognition to its rich film heritage and inspiring settings for film locations. Bradford has been and will continue be an attractive setting for film makers from multi-mullion to low budget productions, making the City an attractive place for aspiring film makers.

Bradford is now one of eight Cities of Film which includes; Sydney (Australia), Busan (Republic of Korea), Galway (Ireland), Sofia (Bulgaria), Rome (Italy), Bitola (Macedonia) and Santos (Brazil). These cities each share a strong cultural heritage in the creative medium of film.

About our fellow Cities of Film

  • Busan is the first Asian City of Film and host to a spectacular film festival which has been held annually since 1996, watch the video created on Busan's announcement as a City of Film
  • Galway is a twin City to Bradford, which now shares the UNESCO status, bringing the two cities even closer
  • Sydney is where THE LEGO® MOVIE was brought to life by animation and visual effects company, Animal Logic and was the location for shooting Angelina Jolie's film Unbroken
  • Sofia, the largest City in Bulgaria; is home to one of the biggest film festivals in South-East Europe
  • Rome, with a long history in film production, it's not hard to understand why it has been awarded the City of Film accolade. Visit the Rome City of Film website for more details on the City's heritage in filmmaking