Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

Medal named after Bradford Professor

Published: Tue 21 Oct 2014

Derek Geldart has been announced as one of eight chemical engineers who will be honoured by having medals named after them by ICHEME.

As the first new medals since 2006, these medals were conceived to recognise the work of the wider chemical engineering community.

The new medal for particle technology has been named after Derek Geldart, former emeritus professor of powder technology at the University of Bradford.

Geldart worked for the UK Atomic Energy Authority before joining the staff at Bradford. In 1967 he started his research into fluidisation – the way that solid particles can behave like a fluid, by means of aeration by a gaseous stream. He was awarded a PhD in 1971 for a dissertation that included a diagram for characterising powders according to their fluidisation and aerated flow behaviour, while his publication Classification of Powders became one of the most cited works in the field.

Geldart sadly passed away in 2012.

The other medals have been named after Man Mohan Sharma, Edward Guggenheim, Byron Bird, Warren Earl Stewart, Edwin Lightfoot, Roger Sargent and Don Nicklin.

“We are very pleased to announce the names behind our new medals and celebrate some of their iconic achievements and contributions stretching back nearly a hundred years,” says IChemE director of publications Claudia Flavell-While, adding: “IChemE is looking forward to celebrating their historic achievements and perpetuating their names in the future by awarding their medals to the next generations of chemical engineers for decades to come.”

The name of one further medal, for research in separations, will be announced shortly.
IChemE will award 23 medals in 2014. There is still time to nominate winners before the deadline on 31 October.

Visit for more information and to download a nomination form.

Share this

Upcoming events

View all events »