Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

Council Membership 2016/17

The Right Honourable Baroness Ann Taylor PC (2018)

Chair of Council, Pro-Chancellor

Committees: Governance and Nominations (Chair); Remunerations (Chair); Ethics Committee (Chair); Honorary Degrees (member).

Ann Taylor was appointed Chair of Council and Pro-Chancellor at the University of Bradford with effect from 1 August 2015. 

View full profile »

Professor Brian Cantor, CBE


Committees: Executive Board (Chair); Senate (Chair); Honorary Degrees (Chair); Nominations (member); Remunerations (member); Finance (member); Equality & Diversity Committee (Chair); Audit (in attendance).

Brian Cantor is Vice-Chancellor at the University of Bradford.  

View full profile »

Mr Roland Clark (2018)

Pro-Chancellor, Treasurer

Committees: Finance (Chair); Investment (Chair); Governance and Nominations (member); Remunerations (member); Honorary Degrees 

(member); Redundancy Committee (member); Audit (in attendance).

Roland Clark is Pro-Chancellor and Treasurer at the University of Bradford.

View full profile »

Ms Sarah Smith (2018)


Committees: Govnernance and Nominations (member); Remunerations (member); Finance (member).

Sarah Smith is Pro-Chancellor at the University of Bradford.

View full profile »

Professor Bill McCarthy

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Operations)

Committees: Senate (member); Executive Board (member); Finance (member); Honorary Degrees (member).

Bill McCarthy is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Operations), and Honorary Professor of Health Policy at the University of Bradford.

View full profile »

Professor Shirley Congdon

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)

Committees: Senate (member); Executive Board (member); Governance and Nominations (member); Honorary Degrees (member). 

Shirley Congdon is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at the University of Bradford 

View full profile »

Ms Shahnaz Ali, OBE (2018)

Lay Member

Committees:- Equality and Diversity (member).

Shahnaz Ali OBE has a national reputation of excellence as an as an experienced leader in the field of health equality and inclusion. During her thirty year career she has worked in both the statutory and voluntary sectors at local, regional and national levels in the North and South of England.

View full profile »

Dr Prathivadi Anand (2018)

Appointed by the Senate

Committees: Senate (member); Ethics (member).

Prathivadi Anand is a Reader in Environmental Economics and Public Policy in the Bradford Centre for International Development (BCID) in the Faculty of Social Sciences.

View full profile »

Ms Zainab Garba-Sani (2018)

Academic Affairs Officer

Committees: Council (member), Senate (member), Learning & Teaching (member), Honorary Degrees Committee (member).

Zainab Garba-Sani was elected to be the University of Bradford Students' Union Academic Affairs Officer in 2017.


View full profile »

Mr Karl Bates (2019)

Lay Member

Committees: Audit (Chair). 

Karl Bates has had a varied civil service career spanning over 30 years. He has worked in functional and support environments including finance, debt management, project management, information technology, publishing, design and training.

View full profile »

Mr Mike Bell (2020)

Appointed by the Court

Committees: Audit (member), Honorary Degrees Committee (member), Redundancy Committee (member). 

Mike Bell graduated from the University of Bradford in 1968 with a BTech in Electrical Engineering, after completing a sandwich course sponsored by Smiths Industries at Cheltenham.

View full profile »

Ms Fiona Driscoll (2018)

Ms Fiona Driscoll (2018)

Lay Member

Committees:- Finance (member).

Photograph and biography to follow. 

Mr Terry Hartwell (2018)

Lay Member

Committees:- Remuneration (member).

Terry Hartwell is a Chartered Surveyor with over 35 years experience in commercial property. He graduated from Bristol Polytechnic (now UWE) with a BSc. in Valuation and Estate Management, becoming a Fellow of the RICS in 1993.

View full profile »

Dr Trevor Higgins (2018)

Lay Member

Committees: Finance (member); Remuneration (member); DHEZ Ltd (Chair).

Trevor Higgins is the regional partnership director for BT. He has enjoyed a diverse career in forty years with the company with jobs ranging call centre management to change management.

View full profile »

Mr Chris Mudd (2018)

Appointed by the Senate

Committees: Senate (member); Health, Saftey and Wellbeing Committee (member). 

View full profile »

Professor Crina Oltean-Dumbrava (2017)

Appointed by the Senate

Committees: Senate (member).

View full profile »

Mr Mohammed Pandor (2019)

Graduate of the University

Committees: - Prevent Steering Group (member).

Mufti Mohammed Pandor (CEng MIMechE CMIOSH RSP CMIQA) was educated in Dewsbury and sponsored by British Aerospace whilst he read Mechanical Engineering at the University of Bradford.

View full profile »

Vacancy (2018)

Non-Academic Staff Member

There is currently a vacancy for the non-academic staff representative. This page will be updated when an appointment has been made.

Mr Maurice Watkins CBE, LL.B., LL.M. (2018)

Lay Member

Committees:- Audit (member); Governance and Nominations (member); Ethics (member).

Maurice Watkins is a Senior Partner and Head of Sport at Brabners LLP, Solicitors Manchester.

View full profile »

Mr Carl Chambers (2020)

Committees: Council (member)

Carl is a chartered accountant and barrister and, after working in both fields, has had a career in the financial services sector and in industry.

View full profile »

Mr Faiz Ilyas(2018)

UBU Union Affairs Officer

Committees: Council (member); Senate (member).

View full profile »

Ms Sally Neocosmos (2020)

Committees: Council (member); Honorary Degrees Committee (member)


Sally Neocosmos has over 35 years experience in higher education administration and management.  During her full-time career she worked in pre- and post-1992 universities, most recently as Registrar and Secretary at the University of York.

View full profile »

In attendance

  • Ms A Jones, University Secretary
  • Ms A Phillips, Interim Director of Finance
  • Mr C Wilson, Director of Estates and Facilities
  • Ms J Marshall, Director of Human Resources
  • Others by invitation

Contact the Council


University of Bradford
West Yorkshire